The mind in the present

Sitting in an overcrowded university library, waiting for the next seminar to come. The one about dictatorships in 20th and 21st century. This week we will discuss different strategies of (external) democracy promotion of authoritarian regimes. A very interesting subject - something I might want to focus on in my bachelor thesis next spring.

Christmas is near! VERY najs. Even though I have not seen any snow yet (very strange and difficult to handle as a Swede) and I spend most of my "awake time" thinking of school work. But those seconds left over I long for Christmas time and the cosiness that it gives you.

Not because you are allowed... or rather, you allow yourself to eat a lot of delicious Christmas food, get tons of presents, foremost self-made cotton socks from your grandmother, or finally meet your many relatives whom you have not seen... well, actually since last Christmas and FINALLY have the time to listen to all their interesting stories... e.g. your oncle telling about the German battleship Tirpitz, or why not the Japanese Yamato in World War II.

Okey, I admit, those stories creates some degree of cosiness as well.

But what really makes me appreciate Christmas is the fact that you can allow yourself to let go of work/studies and relax a little bit. Try to live and enjoy the presence, not to think of what you "have" to do tomorrow, the day after that and next week. Your mind is not always somewhere in the future, at the next exam or deadline. Something, very characteristic of the modern society and the demands of performance at a high level, what makes you forget enjoying those small moments in the present. About what really is important in your life. I am an example of such a "modern" person. But for Christmas I have decided to let go of all this. Let go of everything that I "should" do or be.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0