Sankt Nikolaus

Good morning!

Today christians all over the world are celebrating Saint Nicholas (German: Sankt Nikolaus). This saint was going to be "the model" for the american Santa Claus. I am sure you all have seen many christmas movies with the big, fat Santa Claus on his sleigh with 100 reindeers, singing out "HO HO HO". At least I have, but on the other hand I watched too much television and too many movies as a child.

Anyway, Sankt Nikolaus will of course be celebrated in my evangelical student hostel as well. This fact forced me back to IKEA one more time this winter term. It is not really where I want to spend my time here in Berlin, if you know what I mean. As a swede it is not that amazing to go there, even if it is so cheap, they have fantastic furniture, you can reload you coffee as many times as you want for free, and you get it for half the price with the IKEA Family Card... or whatever might be the reason. Especially it is not funny together with one million over-enthusiastic Germans.

But I had to go there to get the damn swedish food that my "housemates" wanted to have on the St. Nikolaus dinner table. I bought: "köttbullar" (swedish meatballs), "brunsås" (brown sauce), "lingonsylt" (lingonberry jam). Maybe not so Christmas but very swedish and I do not need to prepare that much, since I am not a fan of cooking.

A tip for swedes: Do not buy "Snälleröds vinglögg". It makes you never wanting to drink glögg (hot wine punch) again. And that is too bad, since drinking glögg is a holy event for swedes at Christmas time. No, it should always be the trustworthy "Blossa Glögg".

Happy second advent, by the way!





Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

De båda Nicolausarna var då för roliga... (Skratt som väckte G. ) Kan inte somna lugnt förrän jag gett dig en eloge för den stämningsmättade skildringen från IKEA o Berlin just nu!! Faster

2009-12-08 @ 00:50:01
Postat av: Anonym

2009-12-08 @ 00:58:38
Postat av: Lovisa

Åh, nej! Jag är hemma hos mina föräldrar och min pappa gick precis ut för att koka glögg till oss, snälleröds! Det är visst hans favorit...

2009-12-10 @ 19:45:25

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0